JAZZ AGE

DSC_5859

The Great Gatsby has sparked a craze. Since I love vintage shopping, everywhere I go I hear shopkeepers lament they have sold out of all 1920s inspired outfits. Daisy Buchanan may have been a heartless harpy (modelled on F Scott Fitzgerald‘s first love Ginevra King and wife Zelda )  but Carey Mulligan looked beautiful , wild and oh-so-untouchable in her incarnation of the lead character.  I’ve worn a few Jazz Age inspired outfits to the Gatsby events lately but this one I wore to the Tiffany  & Co event by  designer George Wu was by far my favourite. Super sparkly, crystal and feather encrusted, delicate and beautiful yet totally comfortable, it is a stunning dress made to shine. I coupled it  with my vintage mink fur jacket from C’s Flashback and crystal studded Valentino heels and added extra embellishment via Chelsea de Luca  hairclip and earrings. Since a girl in the 20s was all about more is more I added my favourite rings – the diamond crowned Jordan Askill heart ring in white gold and my antique diamond and aquamarine pinky ring – they are both my lucky charms. Now where does one find a speakeasy to dance some Charleston and get zozzled?

DSC_5646

DSC_5828

DSC_5862

self shot using a Nikon remote

Comments

